Tags

, , ,

A few weeks ago, I was introduced to the painfully uncomfortable but equally hilarious sitcom “Girls.” Now as reluctant as I am to cop to it, young women do some stupid things. Loads of them. Truly idiotic, woefully thoughtless, embarrassing, mind-numbingly ridiculous things.

I know, I know. You can’t expect folks in their 20′s to take complete responsibility, can you? I mean, until our brains are fully formed (27 or 28 years of age, I’m told,) we apparently cannot control our impulses – at least the idiotic ones, it seems.

For a brief moment or two, I wondered why there wasn’t an equally mortifying show about boys – you know, a chronicle of all the eye-rollingly assanine events that occur in the life of a 20-something-year-old man? Then I realized, “there is!” It’s called “Jackass.”

OK, so kids are not always the smartest of creatures. That’s why society dictates that we should live with our parents until we are 18. Why that suggestion is not extended until the age of 28 is beyond me – oh wait, maybe it has something to do with the sanity of the parents?

Ah, the parents. The ones who receive the late-night calls, bail us out of unsavory situations, keep us financially afloat, and put up with our drama despite the temptation to ask for a paternity test. I mean, how hard is it to watch someone with half of your very own DNA bungle critical life choices?

Next Sunday is Fathers’ Day. If you’re past the age of reason, give the old man a hug. If you’re under 28, please do something really, really nice for him. You probably have no clue just how much he deserves it.

 

